All Star Driving Academy News

New Rules For 1st Time Drivers

Senate Bill No. 342

Any person regardless of age, issued a first driver's license from Louisiana shall be prohibited from using a cellular telephone for any purpose while operating a motor vehicle for a period of one year commencing from the date of the issuance of his first driver's license. The date of the original issuance shall be indicated on the reverse of the license.

 

First Violation – A fine of $150 or 16 hours of community service or both

2nd Offense and Each Subsquent Violation – A fine of $225 or 24 hours of community service or both

New Cell Phone law for anyone 17 and under.

Act No. 666

No person who is 17 years of age or younger shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway in Louisiana while using any wireless communications device to engage in a call or write, send or read a text-based communication.

First Violation – A fine not more than $100.

Each Subsquent Violation – A fine not more than $250.

If the person is involved in a crash at the time of the violation, the fine will be double.

LA says NO to text messaging!

Act No. 665

No person shall operate any motor vehicle upon any public road or highway of Louisiana while using a wireless device to write, send or read text-based communications including instant messages and email.

First Violation – A fine not more than $175.

Each Subsquent Violation – A fine not more than $500.

If the person is involved in a crash at the time of the violation, the fine will be double.

New Age Requirements!

Students that are 14 years old and 9 months can now take our 38 Hour Driver Education Course.

You must wait until your 15th Birthday for your Behind The Wheel Training.

Call now to register for one of our classes.